Board of Trustees

Christina Nilsen Wheatley – Project Coordinator

Christina founded Edible Rotherhithe to enable Southwark residents to grow their own food, understand where their food comes from and eat healthily. A trained Southwark Master Gardener, Christina’s inspirational voluntary action has delivered weekly food growing, DIY and arts & crafts clubs, workshops and facilities for young people and residents at various venues in Southwark including Surrey Square School and Age UK.

Away from Edible Rotherhithe, Christina campaigns for period poverty in Southwark. She fits all of her voluntary activity around her caring responsibilities for older people. In 2019, Christina won Volunteer of the Year at Southwark Stars Awards Ceremony (pictured).

Matthew Allgood – Treasurer

Matt has over 20 years’ experience of community charity governance and treasury, and is a director of his residents’ management organisation. His day job is to manage grants for United St Saviour’s Charity in Southwark. He has supported Arsenal Football Club for several decades.

Robert Jamieson – Chair

Robert’s background is in policy, community engagement, and programme management. He currently works for innovation charity Nesta, running system change programmes across the UK.

He has a keen interest in social policy and, in his time at Community Southwark, coordinated the UK’s first Universal Credit network for voluntary and community sector organisations. Other areas of work included food poverty, increasing civic participation, and exploring the impact of regeneration on local communities.

In his spare time he enjoys being a Manchester United supporter, and (occasionally) sampling South London’s pub culture.